Friday 23 March 2012

Post level description

For providing better information to help you decide whether a post can be useful to you, posts of this blog have been categorised to 9 levels. Before doing that, let's explain a few terms, since I am using them differently:

  • Platform: here it refers to code platform such as .NET, JVM, Ruby-On-Rails, node.js ... most posts of my blog are .NET (platform-dependent). Note that platform does not necessarily refer to programming language. I regard Javascript as platform-independent.
  • Framework: Refers to big frameworks of a platform. For example ASP.NET MVC or ASP.NET Web API
  • Micro-framework: Refers to smaller frameworks built on the top of a framework. For example CacheCow

Now here is what each category mean
  • Technical T1-4: these posts are technical and involves showing/reviewing code. Platform-dependent unless Javascript.
    • T1: As long as you are familiar with the platform, you should find the post useful (unless poorly written!) - so no priory knowledge of framework
    • T2: Normally an introduction to a Micro-framework or a explaining a feature of a framework
    • T3: Advanced or edge-case discussion of a feature in a platform, framework or micro-framework
    • T4: In-depth discussion of a framework or micro-framework. Most useful for those interested in extending frameworks or under the hood knowledge
  • Conceptual C1-4: platform-independent architectural or software-design talks such as REST, TDD, Agile... 
    • C1: Introduction to a concept. No priori knowledge required
    • C2: Explanation of a concept
    • C3: In-depth discussion and exploration of a concept
    • C4: An op-ed on a concept  - often controversial encouraging discussion
  • None:
    • N: a post on non-tech related stuff

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.